Our Board & Executive

AHL Board

Dr Susan Gordon AM


Non-executive Chairperson
Appointed 11 September 2015

Bachelor of Laws

A retired Magistrate who served for 20 years on the Bench of the Children's Court of WA. She has a long and distinguished career with extensive senior leadership experience in the areas of Indigenous employment, the first Board of ATSIC, Chaired the National Indigenous Council (NIC), the "Gordon Inquiry", the NT Emergency Response Taskforce. Currently President of the Graham (Polly) Farmer Foundation and the Police and Community Youth Centres Federation of WA (PCYC) Board. Sue sits on other Boards around Australia and her special long term project is Sister Kate's Aged Persons Project.


Mr David Evans


Non-executive director
Appointed 26 June 2013

Master of Business Administration; Bachelor of Commerce; International Company Directors Course; Fellow, CPA Australia; Fellow, Financial Services Institute of Australasia; Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

With over 30 years experience in banking and finance in Australia and the Asia–Pacific, David is a consultant and facilitator for the Australian Institute of Company Directors.
David has been active in governance roles in the not-for-profit sector. He is an independent director of Ngarluma Yindjibarndi Foundation Limited and an independent member of the Queensland Police Service Audit and Risk Committee.
His other roles have included appointments to an Indigenous trust in the Pilbara the Murdoch University Veterinary Trust.


Professor Maryann Bin-Sallik


Non-executive director
Appointed 2 March 2016

Doctorate of Education. (Harvard)

MaryAnn, a member of the Djaru Nation, is recognised internationally as a pioneer for Indigenous higher education in Australia.
Mary Ann has invested the past 40 years in advancing Indigenous Australia through her participation in major government reform committees and academic appointments in Australia and overseas.


Mr Mike Allen PSM


Non-executive director
Appointed 2 March 2016

Graduate Diploma in Urban Estate Management, Member Australian Institute of Company Directors, Fellow Institute of Public Administration Australia, Life Member Australasian Housing Institute.

The former CEO of Housing NSW, Mike has over 30 years experience in social housing management and asset services, homelessness, and community and Aboriginal housing.
Mike was instrumental in leading a number of major housing reforms, including the development of the National Regulatory System for Community Housing.
He was awarded the Public Service Medal in 2011 in recognition of his outstanding and meritorious services to the community and for his strong commitment to the values and principles of social housing.


Jennifer Ullungura Clancy

  Non-executive director
Appointed 10 May 2017

Ms Clancy is a senior Mantiyupwi women from the Wurrumiyanga Bathurst Island and is the Registrar  of the Tiwi Land Council. She has a strong understanding of AHL's core issue of transitioning students from remote communities to boarding facilities. Ms Clancy is a board member of several Tiwi Island corporations.


AHL Executive


Tony Usher GAICD
Chief Executive Officer


Michelle Deavin CPA, BComm
Deputy Chief Executive Officer & Company Secretary